California Vehicle Code 14601.4 VC
VC 14601.4 – Driving on a Suspended, Revoked License Causing Bodily Injury
Driving Suspended, Revoked Causing Injury – Table of Contents
- VC 14601.4 Overview
- VC 14601.4 Sentencing
- VC 14601.4 Prosecution
- VC 14601.4 Defenses
- Driving Suspended, Causing Injury – Hire Us
It is a well-known fact that driving with a suspended or revoked license is banned in California and can get you in a whole lot of trouble if convicted. One could get in even more trouble if they were convicted for driving on a suspended license and causing bodily injury to another individual.
The California Vehicle Code Section 14601.4 VC makes it a criminal offense for an individual to drive with a suspended or revoked license and cause bodily injury while doing this. To be charged under this statute, the defendant needs to have had their driving license suspended or revoked for violating one of these statutes:
- Driving Under The Influence Of Alcohol – California Vehicle Code Section 23152 VC, or
- Driving Under The Influence Causing Bodily Injury – California Vehicle Code Section 23153 VC
Being charged for driving on a suspended or revoked license and causing bodily injury in violation of California Vehicle 14601.4 VC is labeled a misdemeanor level offense. If convicted, the defendant can be sentenced to:
- A maximum jail term of six months in a county jail
- A maximum of $1000
If the defendant is being convicted for a second offense, under VC 14601.4, within five years of the first offense, then the defendant will be facing additional charges including:
- A jail term of up to one year in county jail.
- A maximum fine of $2000
Crimes Related Driving On A Suspended Or Revoked License And Causing Bodily Injury
- Driving without a License – California Vehicle Code Section 12500 VC
- Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License – California Vehicle Code Section 14601 VC
- Driving with a Suspended License for a DUI Conviction – California Vehicle Code Section 14601.2 VC
- Hit and Run Causing Injury – California Vehicle Code Section 20001 VC
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI) – California Vehicle Code Section 23152 VC
- Driving Under the Influence Causing Injury – California Vehicle Code Section 23153 VC
- Reckless Driving – California Vehicle Code Section 23103 VC
To get the defendant convicted under California Vehicle Code 14601.4 VC, the prosecutor must provide solid evidence for the following elements:
- The defendant drove a motor vehicle
- The defendant’s driving license had initially been suspended or revoked after a conviction for a DUI according to VC 23152 or a DUI causing injury according to VC 23153.
- The defendant knew their driving privileges had been suspended or revoked
- The defendant carried out an unlawful act or defied a legal duty put in by law to ensure safe and responsible, which resulted in them causing bodily injury to another person.
To prove the defendant was aware their license had been suspended or revoked, the prosecutor has to show that a notice was sent from the DMV to the defendant’s current or last known mailing address informing them of their suspended or revoked driving privileges. So long as the notice is not sent back. This serves as enough evidence that the defendant had knowledge of their restricted driving privileges.
Facing charges under California Vehicle Code 14601.4 VC does not mean you automatically give up. There are many defense strategies that a criminal defense lawyer can help you out in effect to challenge these accusations in court. Here are a few examples of defenses one could use:
Not Aware Of Suspension Or Revokement
For the defendant to be prosecuted for VC 14601.4, they need to have had prior knowledge that their driving privileges are taken away. Therefore, if the defendant can prove that the DMV failed to send them a notice or that the notice was sent back unread. They can use this to fight these charges in court.
Did Not Cause The Accident That Caused the Bodily Injuries
VC 14601.4 demands that the defendant drive in an irresponsible way which eventually leads to the bodily injury of another individual for them to be convicted under this statute. Thus, if the collision that caused the injuries was not because of the driver’s irresponsible actions but someone else’s. Then they can avoid being convicted under this statute.
Fighting charges under California Vehicle Code 14601.4 VC is much easier if you have an experienced lawyer by your side. Seppi Esfandi has over 20 years of experience successfully defending DUI-related cases. Thus, if you or a loved one is facing charges for driving on a suspended or revoked license and causing bodily injury, you should contact him as soon as possible. Early intervention in these kinds of cases can make a huge difference.
Need a Criminal Defense Attorney? CALL NOW: 310-274-6529
Seppi Esfandi is an Expert Criminal Defense Attorney who has over 20 years of practice defending a variety of criminal cases.
What Our Clients Say
Very sharp and very detailed! Thanks Paul you're one of the best in the business and you set an excellent example of a good quality attorney that cares!- Erick Glover
Chris demonstrated both a compassionate ear as well as a logical, realistic approach to the issues that arose. He consistently responded quickly to both email and phone correspondence.- Bonnie Tova
Chris has handled my contentious divorce case for the last year. He has listened to me and guided me along the way through the court system. I highly highly recommend him.- P.K.
Chris Moore was always extremely diligent and 'on point' with me every step of the way. He was honest, respectful, straightforward, and very competent. He exceeded my expectations.- D.A.